Sip-Up Ice and Cotton Candies

Dear Corporate Executive, as promised in my previous post, here I am. I understand how difficult it is to sit through 8 hours of work in a closed cubicle. So, let us not count the days when we have extended our working hours. They are better not talked about. While you deal with these blues specific to Wednesday, I share with you a poem which might be nostalgic for you.

It was for me at least, as I wrote it a few months ago in January of this year. I remember my childhood whenever I think about sip-up ice and cotton candies. Enjoy your evening and the rest of this week. Good Day! Good Night!

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
Remind me of a life
I’ll never have again

At our sixes and
Sevens and eights
Sneaking a few coins
From grandma’s box

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
We had so many
It’s just not the same

We have now
Grown much
And money we have
To buy as many

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
Yet we don’t buy
Neither do we enjoy

We wonder
Why we lose
Such pleasures and
Good things in life.

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
Taste just the same
And are as sweet

We are not
And have changed
So much so that
Our innocence is lost

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
Enjoyed best when
You be a child

For as much as you have
And as much as you want
It’s just not the same
Once you lose innocence

Sip-up ice and
Cotton candies
Are at best memories
Of times gone and, of innocence

© Suhail Rasheed, 2012

Leave a Reply

